Reduce Procrastination With One Statement

‘I have to finish something big and important and do it perfectly while working hard for long periods of time without time to play.’ Does this sound familiar? If yes, you probably procrastinate to some extent. According to psychologist Neil Fiore, the author of ”The Now Habit‘, procrastinators tend to use five types of negative statements:

1. ‘I have to.’

2. ‘I must finish.’

3. ‘This is big and important.’

4. ‘I must be perfect.’

5. ‘I don’t have time to play.’

Fiore suggests that we can overcome procrastination simply by changing how we talk to ourselves and perceive the situation:

1. ‘I have to.’ (Say ‘I choose to.’)

2. ‘I must finish.’ (Say ‘When can I start?’)

3. ‘This is big and important.’ (Say ‘I can take one small step.’)

4. ‘I must be perfect.’ (Say ‘I can be perfectly human.’)

5. ‘I don’t have time to play.’ (Say ‘I must take time to play.’)

Therefore, the one statement that can make you more productive is ‘I choose to start on one small step, knowing I have plenty of time for play’.

Related Posts
Forgiving Yourself Can Help Defeat Procrastination

Leave a Reply

